Wonder of a Whir

FINALLY. Boy, it really is the little things in life. I FIGURED OUT MY WASHING MACHINE! Tho it sounds exactly like a jet engine warming up for takeoff in my kitchen at the moment, it’s working. I’ve spent the last week and a half trying to figure it out. First I got my laundry stuck in it for two days. Then I thought I had the door figured out (false hope) because I proceeded to got my laundry stuck again, this time for three days. And then I figured out how to get the door open & got it to seemingly work (yay!!) but too early for celebration because…turns out I couldn’t figure out how to make it put in water while it washed clothes (or even really how to make it spin (it consistently spun half-heartedly half of the time and with not more than some drips of water so really quite ineffective)) Then I thought I done a load of laundry (yay yay!!) put in a second load & then realized that the first load was significantly soapy. Then my bag of soapy laundry leaked all over the counter while I endeavored (for another day) to wash the other load (quite unsuccessfully). Finally I rinsed the old soapy load in my bathtub (I’m desperately in need of pants) hung up the most necessary pieces and this afternoon, after 10 days of issues ran a successful load of laundry followed by a second! Two data points of success! I think I can publish that I have actually, really truly, finally figured out how to get my Spanish washing machine to join me in my adventure of foreign domesticity.

Sincerely, Robyn and her new friend the washing machine.

#07

3 thoughts on “Wonder of a Whir

  1. If you ever move back to the U.S., life will seem very easy to you. Have fun figuring out the little things!

    Like

Leave a comment